The Death of Jesus (Mark 15:33-39)

Michael Argabrite, February 12, 2017
Part of the Mark series, preached at a Sunday Morning service

I. The Three Hours of Darkness (Mark 15:33)
II. The Cry of Agony (v. 34)
III. Jesus's Death (v. 37-38)
IV. The Confession (v. 39)


Earlier: Same day: Later:
« The Crucifixion of Jesus None The Burial of Jesus »

Mark 15:33-39

33 And when the sixth hour had come, there was darkness over the whole land until the ninth hour. 34 And at the ninth hour Jesus cried with a loud voice, “Eloi, Eloi, lema sabachthani?” which means, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” 35 And some of the bystanders hearing it said, “Behold, he is calling Elijah.” 36 And someone ran and filled a sponge with sour wine, put it on a reed and gave it to him to drink, saying, “Wait, let us see whether Elijah will come to take him down.” 37 And Jesus uttered a loud cry and breathed his last. 38 And the curtain of the temple was torn in two, from top to bottom. 39 And when the centurion, who stood facing him, saw that in this way he breathed his last, he said, “Truly this man was the Son of God!” (ESV)

Powered by Sermon Browser